Adventures in Motherhood

Me, rambling about motherhood and my ridiculous life…

How to Daddy April 24, 2009

Filed under: Daddy,Mummy,parenting,Uncategorized — Ohdeerestme @ 9:39 pm
Tags: , , , ,

father2-blog

My husband and I do things completely different. Cooking, (diapering obviously), cleaning and parenting. I am sure it is the same in every relationship whether children are involved or not.

When M has ‘Daddy-duty’, which is a few nights a week while I do things like go to yoga or go running, all bets are off. And I mean all bets….

Feeding V does not require a bib. Ever.

Because “Bibs are for babies and we are real men”… and that is practically a quote.

It makes me laugh every time he says it. However, squash, sweet potato and pea stains on his crib sheets from vegetables on his pj’s? *sigh*

V’s bath-time becomes a water battle-ground. At least 6 wash-cloths get used to clean that little plump body. And at at least 3 towels are used to dry it. (mini-secret: I hate laundry)

Everything is done in this super-jocular voice, which is really rather funny.

The other night I heard him reading to V, and it was the cutest thing. One of those ‘Bright Babys’ board books. Lots of brightly coloured pictures of animals, with the word below the picture.

So I heard things like this….

“Look! It’s a lion! Rawr!!!”

“A baby chicken says ‘Peep peep!'”

“A macaw! What the heck is that doing in this book?”

“A guinea pig! That’s what we test!”

I did a double take at the baby monitor when I heard the last….. it made me giggle.

V was having the time of his life, listening to Daddy read him stories. And then in the middle of all this fun, Daddy shouted in a jolly kind of manner  “All aboard the sleepy train!”. And put V to bed.

Just like that.

I think V was in shock. Usually there is some rocking, some cuddling, big kisses and some sweet talk before bed with Mummy. With Daddy, however, there is none of that. Just straight to bed.

It just struck me as funny.

 

Leave a Reply

