Adventures in Motherhood

Me, rambling about motherhood and my ridiculous life…

Canadian Training June 3, 2009

Filed under: Canada,family,parenting,Uncategorized,West Coast,whole foods — Ohdeerestme @ 9:09 pm
Tags: , , ,

training-blog

V is currently sleeping with blankets. I am calling this ‘training for Canada’ as it is not as warm as it is down here in Florida. Let’s face it….. nothing is….

I even bought him long pajamas for those ‘harsh Canadian summers’ (as M terms it). But it IS cooler!

AND I even bought him shoes. Shoes that fit (although one pair looks ridiculously large on those little fat feet). There was no way that we were flying into another country with my child barefoot. And also no way that I would be paying $25 for a pair of baby-crocs. It’s bad enough that I spent $25 on a metal water bottle. I can use that forever. But $25 on a pair of shoes that, let’s face it, will only last him 10 days is hard to handle….

The reason I was looking at Crocs is that they apppeared to a sort of ‘multitasking shoe’ and I am all over the multitasking idea. Sort of a summer*slash*winter (in FL, that is)with socks shoe, that won’t suddenly not fit him overnight (because of the heel strap, I am thinking). But $25? I think not. I almost got sucked into the ‘Whole Foods’ web of entrapment on Saturday…. I managed to walk past the expensive water bottles (because lord knows I couldn’t excuse a second one) and walked right into the baby-Crocs aisle. But I resisted…. stayed strong….  I would have been laughed at forever if I returned from Whole Foods with another expensive purchase.

Blankets…. check!

Shoes….. check!

He is now conditioned for those rough Canadian summers. He wears shoes like a champ and can snuggle with blankets like a pro…

He is on a Maple syrup diet too, and smells deliciously sweet all the time. I really could lick his little cheeks everytime I smell the syrup on him. Such a delicious way for small children to smell. And taste.

Just wait until he tries it on Nanna’s wheat-free pancakes…. And she gets a whiff of that delicious smell on his cubby little face. She will lose herself in love with him just like I am…..

 

4 Responses to “Canadian Training”

  1. Tams Says:

    Awwww can’t wait to see you guys!! it has been a record breaking heat wave here, but should break by the time you get here, Victoria was 29C today!! thats like hot for us! (did the calculations thats 84.2F and its humid too there) but bring the blanket just incase!! see ya soon
    t

  2. Tracy Says:

    Hey, some of Canada’s hot, we get into the 40’sC here. Don’t know what that is in F but man is it hot. You don’t always need blankets……..

  3. Christine Says:

    You can buy imitation Crocs at The CHildren’s Place or even CVS….

  4. Mom Says:

    Croc-look alikes…$10 in Sidney!
    Have been stressing about the heat as there is no air-con…
    But, think it will just feel normal to you…or even slightly cooler than normal…
    Going to assemble the pack and play and set up in the next few days…can’t wait to see little Mr. Maple Syrup baby…and you!


Leave a Reply

