Adventures in Motherhood

Me, rambling about motherhood and my ridiculous life…

Pox June 20, 2009

kitty-blog

M is allergic to cats.

When he first told me this years ago, I thought he was lying. I really thought that he didn’t want to get a kitten/cat, anything of the feline persuasion as a pet. His family is more of a ‘dog’ family. And so years ago when he visited me in Canada and stayed at my parent’s house and started sneezing and rubbing his eyes repeatedly, I finally got the point. He was, in fact, not lying. Surprise!

My dear kitty that I had during University moved in with my parents when I moved to Japan. And when I moved back she continued to stay with them. They love her (as do I, she really is so sweet). On our recent trip to Canada, we slept in their bedroom with V, while my parents stayed in the guest house. There was much talk about making sure to keep the bedroom door closed as Molly-cat loves to sneak in there. Not only is M allergic, but my Step-dad is too so this was doubly important.

Despite all of these precautions (and leaving the bedroom window open all day and night), M still had bouts of sneezing and watery eyes…. it just couldn’t be helped.

One night we were all out on the patio. We had just finished a lovely visit with some family and friends, and were finishing off a quickly put-together smorgasbord of savory treats. There was a nice chill in the air, wine on the table and my sister and I got up to get hoodies and slippers so we could stay cozy while we all chatted on the deck.

I guess M and C must have looked a little cold, as my mum dashed back in and came out carrying 2 woolen blankets which she proceeded to toss on both of them. Satisfied that everyone was cosy and warm, we all continued laughing and joking for another hour or so before heading off to bed.

…….hours later…….. early morning…….

M woke up with his eyes practically stuck shut, sneezing like a mother-f’er, tears running down his face from how itchy his eyes are and totally congested.

“Don’t tell your mother, but I think that blanket has the pox,” he said, “It is my Kryptonite.” Apparently it was covered in cat hair.

I started laughing and thinking of course that I will have to write about this in my blog. M looked at me and I knew he was reading my mind. As soon as he started to say “Jame…..” I said “I will really try to not mention this….really. For real.” I am pretty sure he didn’t believe me. It might have been a little lie on my part…

Downstairs we trudged with V (M trying to hide his sneezes and red eyes). The pox blankets lay on an end table and V was reaching for them. “No honey,” I said, “Don’t touch the cat blankets.” (M evil eyed me in the background for uttering this outloud).

“Cat blanket?” someone piped up…

And then the story unfolded from my Stepdad.

“Ah, yes,” he said, “The cat used to sleep on it. I think we’ve had them for about 30 years and they’ve never been washed. Missy used to sleep on them too.” (Missy was a cat we had when I was in middle/high school)

This history of the pox blanket is revealed! I struggled to not look at M, for fear that the giggle in me would erupt and run totally out-of-control.

I just saved it all up for here instead….

 

5 Responses to “Pox”

  1. Mom Says:

    Good grief!
    Blanket washing is taking place as we speak.
    They are wool, and actually…among other things not mine.
    We had them in Granny M.’s car…as it was always cold.
    I never thought of them as cat blankets…and don’t actually remember cats sleeping on them.
    But, apparently G. does.
    I think he is looking for a reason for his allergies to be anything…and any reason not to take an allergy tab.
    No problem…what else do I not know about?
    hairy, huggy, sniffy, sneezy things to fix for next time!

  2. Tams Says:

    aaah the story of the pox blanket is revealed!! I wondered about that photo I saw on FB!!
    lol made me laugh…

  3. Lindsay Says:

    haha! i remember having that conversation as we were leaving…Chris is allergic too (apparently) but the cat blankets had no effect on him…perhaps Mikes was more catty? Or Chris just really hates cats… 😦

  4. Tracy Says:

    I remember Missey. The cat the drooled when she was sleeping. I remember sleeping over, having her sleep on me an waking up cover in cat drool. I had dogs so you know it didn’t bother me, I just never knew a cat could drool. That was one cat in the world that actually liked me. Most hate me, the one Dan had when we got married did until the day it died.


Leave a Reply

