Adventures in Motherhood

Me, rambling about motherhood and my ridiculous life…

Toys June 28, 2009

Filed under: bed-time,books,clean,Daddy,family,Mummy,parenting,toys — Ohdeerestme @ 10:21 pm
Tags: , , , ,

toys-blog

As I look over at my exhausted Chihuahua as he sleeps in his cat-bed, I notice a plastic cow in front of his little bed. My house has suddenly become over-run with toys and I am not sure how this happened.

And when did our dog get so tired? Perhaps when V started following him around waving his dog toys in front of his little dog face? Maybe then….

There was a time, I think it was when V didn’t wiggle around as much. But, regardless, there was a time when we had about 4 toys. And they didn’t make any noise. Then my bf gifted us with a few extra things from her house, which we thought was great!After all, we thought, we have NO toys. We NEED toys.

And then a little while later, Target opened a Super-Target about 1 block from my office. Once or twice a week I would head over there with the pretense of buying ‘groceries’, that really means formula, diapers, clearance items and little toys. I think I ‘little toy’-ed us to death.

Oh, and then it was Christmas, and then it was Easter, and then some family visited. And then V turned one. And then I went to Ross every week for 4 months and bought him books (as he didn’t have any books). Now he has a lot of books. And pj’s.

And this last week, when V unveiled his new talent of A) removing all items from any shelf within reach (oh how great that I decided to put  half of his books on a shelf in our living room!) and 2) removing any toys one by one from any storage container that they are placed in and C) screaming when you return them to said storage location….. that is when I decided that we have too many toys. And things. And need a separate room for all of these things.

And so we are buying a house.

Not that we have found a house to buy, but we are looking seriously and buying seriously too…. (we do everything very seriously. We are frighteningly serious people. And also frighteningly sarcastic as well) before the end of the year. And it’s all because of V. And his toys. Not really.

It is because of me. Well, the book situation is anyways…. I can’t resist. I still think books are the best toys ever. For anyone really. I think it is the nicest present to give someone, well, only if you know them fairly well….. and they have time to read. So maybe don’t work full-time and have 2 kids under 5…..

So little toys are everywhere over here. Plastic cows, Elmo books, wagons, numerous plastic hammers (w/sound effects), over-sized cars, many things with sound effects etc etc etc….

We are on our way to drowning over here…… Help!

For help, click here

 

4 Responses to “Toys”

  1. Mr. F. Mc Neale Says:

    It sounds like this could all be cured if you cut out trips to target and Ross.

    • toodlepoop Says:

      Mike, you know I can’t resist Super Target OR Ross. Plus I have no control when it comes to V…… so this is really not a good suggestion 😉 love you

  2. Tracy Says:

    We too are drowning. You need to buy a house to accomodate and Dan wants to move to a bigger house to accomodate! Funny. With 3 kids at we have freak’n toys coming out the ying yang, now that the baby toys reappeared for Jax. I keep trying to sort through and get rid of toys to the local thrift shop much to the kids dismay, they “need” each and every toy they never play with. Our house has totally been taken over. We have a small 3 bedroom rancher. When we bought it, it was just us and Q, add 2 more kids and a lot more toys…… yep we need a basement playroom now. Mazie has gotten more tired with each child. It’s funny she was really red when we had Q, got a little whitter with E and is now almost fully white from Jax. Kids are stressful you know, life is all eat and sleep now.

    • toodlepoop Says:

      You guys live in a 3 bedroom? I am so with Dan and the bigger house thing. Aw, and poor sweet Mazie! I can only imagine the toy carnage that is taking place at your house…. We just have the one kiddo over here, times 3??I can’t even imagine! xo


Leave a Reply

