Adventures in Motherhood

Me, rambling about motherhood and my ridiculous life…

Jacket July 17, 2009

Filed under: Canada,cousin,faux,jacket,Uncategorized,University — Ohdeerestme @ 7:39 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

jacket-blog

With an Internet blackout, I am typing this away on my desktop…. The blog-gods will be appeased with this… right?

Anyways I was thinking tonight about the amount of jackets I used to own when I lived back in Canada.

Oh the times of Talia and Jaime, those 2 cousins that lived together and had a huge hall-closet and between them had many a jacket. It was packed full of jackets….

In particular, I believed that Talia had a very nice woolen Pea-Coat that I adored. I think it came from L.L. Bean. I might have worn it every chance I could.

For some reason tonight while I was watching Big Brother, one of the contestants was wearing a jacket that not only reminded me of Talia, but also of University in general.

The jacket that Brendan was wearing was exceptionally cheap looking. Total faux-leather with faux-sheepskin on the collars. Awful. Reminded me of a jacket I owned in the ’90’s.

Faux leather…. Naugahyde to be exact.. Like my Gramp’s couch.

I thought that jacket was awesome. It cost $20, that I clearly remember. It was total faux-everything, and buttoned up like a suit-jacket. I wore it everywhere. I thought it made me look professional. Or cool. Or a combination of both. And then a friend of mine bought the same one…. Unprompted and without knowing that I had it. That must have meant that I had good taste, right?

And in retrospect, it was the most awful jacket you have ever seen. But it was the nineties, so that…well, that was the way it went, eh?

Again, that jacket-cupboard was full of lovely jackety things. All sorts of grey, black and dark brown. Several types of navy coats. An old smoking jacket. One or two coats made of synthetic materials… it was a glorious array of coats…and scarves and gloves… good times….

And then on a completely different topic, I just found this lovely blog which is full of pretty things to look at. And interesting things to read…. probably you want to go and check it out. For reals.

 

One Response to “Jacket”

  1. Tams Says:

    ha ha I soooo remember the closet and Talia’s jacket, it was very nice indeed…and those ‘retro’ jackets WERE cool, I might even still have on kicking around! lol


Leave a Reply

